5th Annual GJAC Writing and Photography Awards

July 23, 2013 / Comments Off on 5th Annual GJAC Writing and Photography Awards

Annual Media Awards News

TORONTO - From the most pressing issues in Canadian golf news, to thought provoking profiles, and jealously inducing travel logs, the best in Canadian golf writing and photography was showcased Monday evening at Burlington Golf and Country Club.

Each year the Golf Journalists Association of Canada (GJAC) holds its annual general meeting and awards banquet in conjunction with the RBC Canadian Open, which this year happens at the venerable Glen Abbey Golf Course in Oakville, Ont.

First, second, and third prizes were handed out in the following categories: Travel, Feature/Profile, Editorial/Column, and News. Three prizes for Photography were also awarded.

The big winner of the night was Rick Drennan, as he took home three separate prizes. A third place in the Feature/Profile category for his story on the greying of golf, another third place in the Editorial/Column category for a story on Ledgeview Golf Course in Abbotsford, B.C., and finally, a first place in the News category on his story on promoting Canada. All Drennan’s stories appeared in Pro Shop Magazine.

Jason Logan, editor of SCOREGolf won first prize in the Feature/Profile category for his in-depth story on the curious case of Derek Gillespie, the winner of Big Break PEI and current PGA Tour Canada member who survived a terrible car accident a few years ago.

Tim Baines from the Ottawa Sun was the runner up in that category on his fun profile of what it was like to play a round in Ottawa with rock legend Alice Cooper.

Jon McCarthy was also multiple award winner, taking first place in the Travel category with his tale of playing golf along the English countryside and managing to attend a wedding in the process. He took second place in the Editorial/Column category with his story asking if Sergio Garcia is finally ready to win.

Bernard Brault dominated the photography category. The Montreal-based photographer took home first and second place with photos of Lydia Ko at the CN Women’s Open.

Finally, SCOREGolf TV producer Brian Bileski took home the inaugural Stanley Thompson Society media award for his fine television package on the architect’s legacy.

Here is a complete list of the 2013 winners:

First place: Jon McCarthy | Story: Links, Drinks, & Hijinks | The Toronto Sun
Second place: Guy Nicholson | Story: Find the Missing Links | The Globe & Mail
Third place: Ted McIntyre | Story: Mississippi Yearning | Golf Scene

First place: Jason Logan | Story: Die Hard: Derek Gillespie | SCOREGolf
Second place: Tim Baines | Story: Nice Putt, Alice | The Ottawa Sun
Third place: Rick Drennan | Story: The Greying of Golf | Pro Shop Magazine

First place: Ross MacDonald | Story: Looking for Members | Pro Shop Magazine
Second place: Jon McCarthy | Story: Is Sergio Finally Ready to Win? | The Toronto Sun
Third place: Rick Drennan | Story: Making Do is the Ledgeview Motto | Pro Shop Magazine

First place: Rick Drennan | Story: Let’s Promote Canada Eh! | Pro Shop Magazine
Second place: Peter Robinson | Story: Uncertainty Surrounds Canadian Women’s Open | CBC.ca
Third place: Rick Young | Story: Lorne Rubenstein’s Moe & Me | SCOREGolf.com

First place: Bernard Brault | Lydia Ko at CN Women’s Open soaked by water
Second place: Bernard Brault | Lydia Ko first shot at CN Women’s Open
Third place: Jeff Lancaster | Glen Abbey in the fall, and Highlands Links


About the Golf Journalists Association of Canada:
The purpose of the Golf Journalists Association of Canada (GJAC) is to encourage and promote golf journalism in Canada, recognize excellence in Canadian golf and golf journalism through annual awards, bring together golf journalists from across the country to share ideas and common interests, and held develop better media relations between the Association’s membership and various golf associations, sponsors, and golf companies across Canada. You can now follow GJAC on Twitter at @GJ_AC

For more information contact:
Adam Stanley
Director of Communications, Golf Journalists Association of Canada