The Golf Journalists Association of Canada announce the winners of its eleventh annual Writing & Photography Awards

July 11, 2019 / Comments Off on The Golf Journalists Association of Canada announce the winners of its eleventh annual Writing & Photography Awards

Annual Media Awards News

CALEDON - From the top issues in the world of Canadian golf to deep profiles and FOMO-worthy travel posts, the best in Canadian golf writing and media was showcased on Wednesday at TPC Toronto at Osprey Valley.

As part of the Golf Journalists Association of Canada (GJAC) annual general meeting and awards banquet in conjunction with the Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada’s Osprey Valley Open presented by Votorantim Cimentos – CBM Aggregates, awards were handed out in the categories of: Column, Profile, Feature, Travel, Photography (action and landscape) and Multimedia.

SCOREGolf’s Jason Logan led the way among award winners with a first-place prize in the Feature category for his deep dive ‘A more diverse universe,’ as well as a win in the Multimedia category along with Andrew Foscarin and Kody McWilliams for their video ‘Ben Silverman continues to defy the odds.’

Awards also went to Lorne Rubenstein in the Column category for ‘Our maiden major champ’ in SCOREGolf, Ted McIntyre in the Profile category for ‘Analyze this: if you do the math, Corey Conners should have a successful PGA Tour career’ in GOLF Waterloo Region and Guy Nicholson in the Travel category for ‘Texas two step’ in SCOREGolf.

In the photography section, Golf Canada’s Bernard Brault took home top honours in the Action category for his shot ‘It’s a momentous occasion’ of Brooke Henderson and the Henderson family following her win at the CP Women’s Open, while the PGA of Canada’s Chris Fry won the Landscape category with his shot ‘RBC PGA of Canada Scramble’ of Cabot Links.

The awards banquet also saw GJAC continue its support of rising talent in both the world of professional golf and golf journalism with three bursary awards presented to Maddie Szeryk, James Allenby and Declan Riley.

Szeryk, a 22-year old London, Ontario native in her first season on the Symetra Tour, took home the GJAC Women’s Player Bursary with support from Mackenzie Investments, while Allenby, a 34-year old Langley, B.C. native competing on the Mackenzie Tour, was awarded the GJAC Men’s Player Bursary with support from Golf Town. Both were awarded a $3,000 prize to support their efforts in reaching the highest levels of professional golf.

As announced last month, Edmonton, Alberta’s Declan Riley was awarded the GJAC Journalism Scholarship supported by Freedom 55 Financial along with a $2,000 prize and mentorship from veteran GJAC journalists.

The full list of GJAC Journalism Award winners can be found here:


1.   Lorne Rubenstein, SCOREGolf, Our maiden major champ.

2.   Adam Stanley,, In Canada today, golf’s most influential figures are women.

3.   Rick Drennan, Pro Shop Magazine, Striking gold in coal country changes the face of golf tourism.


1.   Ted McIntyre, GOLF Waterloo Region, Analyze this: If you do the math, Corey Conners should have a successful PGA Tour career.

2.   Jason Logan, SCOREGolf, Spittle’s swan song


1.   Guy Nicholson, SCOREGolf, Texas two step.

2.   Jeff Brooke, The Globe and Mail, For golfers, Northern Ireland’s links are worthy of renewed attention.

3.   Jeff Brooke, The Globe and Mail, Tee if by sea.


1.   Jason Logan, SCOREGolf, A more diverse universe.

2.   Robert Thompson, SCOREGolf, The new era for architects.

3.   Scot Morison, SCOREGolf, The secrets to senior success.


1.   Bernard Brault,, ‘It’s a momentous occasion’.

2.   Bernard Brault,, Henderson sister act.

3.   Chris Fry,, Bucket list experience at RBC PGA scramble.


1.   Chris Fry,, RBC PGA Scramble at Cabot Links.

2.   Grant Fraser, Flagstick Golf Magazine, Living the golf life in Los Cabos, Mexico.

3.   Michael Cunningham, Inside Golf, B.C.’s Vernon a true golf ‘mecca’.


1.   Andrew Foscarin, Jason Logan and Kody McWilliams, SCOREGolf TV, Ben Silverman continues to defy the odds

2.   Kody McWilliams, Every day is Father’s Day,

3.   Andrew Foscarin and Jason Logan, SCOREGolf TV, Jared du Toit wants to back up his breakout

Each year GJAC awards its membership for excellence in Writing and Photography at its annual Writing and Photography Awards ceremony.

Members who have paid their dues in a particular year are able to enter in a number of writing and photography categories with work from the past year for a chance to win fabulous prizes as donated by the organization’s sponsors.