Kim Locke announced as recipient of GJAC’s Dick Grimm Award

September 22, 2020 / Comments (0)

Dick Grimm Award News

TORONTO – The Golf Journalists Association of Canada (GJAC) announced on Monday that Kim Locke is the recipient of the 2020 Dick Grimm Award, the association’s highest honour.

A committee of past GJAC Presidents selected Locke, whose leadership in founding and publishing SCOREGolf have contributed richly to the discourse and coverage of Canadian golf for four decades.
Named in honour of Canadian Golf Hall of Famer Richard "Dick" Grimm, whose legendary service to the Canadian Open and the Canadian golf industry is unparalleled in Canadian golf history, the Dick Grimm Award is presented annually to those who have made a significant lifetime contribution to Canadian golf.

“It’s truly an honour to be this year’s recipient of the Dick Grimm Award,” said Locke. “When I first broke into the golf media business 40 years ago Dick was extremely influential as a mentor and trusted advisor. He was also a dear close friend who epitomized the game’s values the entirety of his long distinguished career. My sincere thanks to the Golf Journalists Association of Canada for bestowing me with an award that embodies what Dick Grimm meant to golf right across Canada.”

Under Locke’s leadership since launching as SCORE, Canada’s Golf Magazine in 1980, SCOREGolf has made countless contributions to Canadian golf media including editorial coverage in print, TV and radio, course rankings and platforms for diverse voices across the Canadian golf industry. In January, SCOREGolf was awarded the PGA of Canada’s George Cumming Distinguished Service Award.

“Over the course of his career Kim’s work has contributed immensely to the Canadian golf community,” said David McPherson, GJAC President. “We’re proud to present him with this award in the name of Dick Grimm, whose tireless efforts to promote the game of golf in Canada had so much in common with what SCOREGolf has achieved over the past 40 years.”

Grimm, who passed away in 2014, was a true giant of the game in Canada, and in the world of golf. He was an energetic supporter of GJAC, and the association’s highest annual award is named after him.


For more information:
David McPherson, GJAC President

About the Golf Journalists Association of Canada:
Established in 2006, the purpose of the Golf Journalists Assocaition of Canada (GJAC) is to encourage and promote golf journalism in Canada, recognize excellence in Canadian golf and golf journalism through annual awards, bring together golf journalists from across the country to share ideas and common interests, and develop better media relations between the Association’s membership and various golf associations, sponsors and golf companies across Canada.

About the Dick Grimm Award
The Dick Grimm Award honours Canadian Golf Hall of Famer Richard "Dick" Grimm whose legendary service to the Canadian Open and the Canadian golf industry is unparalleled in Canadian golf history. It alternates each year being awarded to members of the Canadian golf media and someone from the Canadian golf industry who has made a significant lifetime contribution to Canadian golf. Dick Grimm passed away in May 2014.

2019 - Doug Carrick & Tom McBroom
2018 – Lorie Kane
2017 – John Gordon
2016 – Marlene Stewart Streit
2015 - Lorne Rubenstein
2014 - Jocelyne Bourassa
2013 - Bob Weeks
2012 - Sandra Post
2011 - Jim Barclay
2010 - Dick Grimm

Dick Grimm's Canadian Golf Hall of Fame Biography
Born: April 29, 1923
Place of Birth: Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A.
Inducted: 1993
Category: Builder
Dick Grimm was affectionately known as “Mr. Canadian Open” during his involvement with our national professional championship that lasted from 1965 to 1993. Masterfully coordinating the skills of salesman, promoter, official and fan, Grimm put his heart and soul into making the Canadian Open the great event it is today.

Additional Highlights:
1965 Chairman of the Canadian Open for Mississaugua Golf Club
RCGA Canadian Open Chairman: 1970, 1972, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981
1974 President of the RCGA
1969 - 1974 RCGA Governor
1975 - present RCGA Honorary Life Governor
Director of Professional Tournaments for the RCGA: 1983 – 1993
Commissioner of the Canadian Tour: 1993 - 1997