Veteran Canadian journalist Rick Young named GJAC’s 2023 Dick Grimm Award winner

September 8, 2023 / Comments Off on Veteran Canadian journalist Rick Young named GJAC’s 2023 Dick Grimm Award winner

Dick Grimm Award News

(Toronto) - The Golf Journalists Association of Canada has announced Rick Young will become the 15th recipient of its Dick Grimm Award.

Grimm, who passed away in 2014, was a true giant of the game in Canada, and was an enthusiastic supporter of the Golf Journalists Association of Canada.

The award which bears his name is GJAC’s highest honour and is given annually to someone who has made a significant lifetime contribution to Canadian Golf.

Young has had a remarkable 40-year career covering almost all aspects of the game in Canada.

He started writing for his hometown paper the Woodstock Sentinel-Review in 1983 and penned a weekly column for them for 28-years. He went on to write for numerous publications across Canada and the United States including Ontario Golf News, MyGolfSpy, The Toronto Star, Golf Business Canada, GreenMaster Magazine, Golf Canada Magazine, Pro Shop Magazine, MacLean’s, LINKS Magazine, Golf World, Golf Journal (USGA), GolfStyle, ClubLink Life, Fairways Magazine, The London Free Press, The National Post, and the Globe and Mail.

Young began writing for SCOREGolf in 1999 covering golf business and equipment and continues in that role both in print and with an online blog.

He has been a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame selection committee, the Ontario Golf Hall of Fame selection committee and currently sits on the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame selection committee.

Young was instrumental in the resurrection of the Golf Journalists Association of Canada and served as president from 2008-2011 and from 2020-2021.

He remains on the GJAC board as Immediate past president and vice-president of outreach and industry relations.

“This is a fitting honour for Rick given his immense contributions to golf in Canada along with his instrumental role in the development of our Association," said GJAC Board President, Mike Johnny.  "In my conversations with original members, Rick was a driving force behind the establishment of the GJAC.  On behalf of all our members I would like to congratulate Rick and thank him for all he has done to build and support GJAC.”

Through his writing Young has been a big supporter of junior golf, municipal golf, and women’s golf as well young amateur and professional players. And he’s given a platform to many startup Canadian golf businesses.

Earlier this year the Ontario Golf Hall of Fame honoured Young with their Lorne Rubenstein Award for contributions to golf in Ontario.

The Dick Grimm Award will be presented to Young at the GJAC annual meeting and golf day Tuesday, Sept. 12 at Copetown Woods Golf Club in Hamilton.

2010 – Dick Grimm
2011 – Jim Barclay
2012 – Sandra Post
2013 – Bob Weeks
2014 – Jocelyne Bourassa
2015 – Lorne Rubenstein
2016 – Marlene Stewart Streit
2017 – John Gordon
2018 – Lorie Kane
2019 – Doug Carrick & Tom McBroom
2020 – Kim Locke
2021 – Garry McKay
2022 – Jim Clark

About GJAC:

GJAC encourages, promotes and recognizes quality Golf Journalism in Canada by:   

  • connecting journalists across the country to share ideas, interest and knowledge
  • encouraging members to celebrate equity, diversity and inclusiveness in golf in the stories they cover; and 
  • encouraging and supporting equity, diversity and inclusiveness in the membership of the golf journalism industry; and
  • acknowledging excellence through annual awards